1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Guy

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by mikeRVN, Nov 9, 2012.

1. mikeRVN

mikeRVN New Member

I'm a Viet Nam veteran. Wounded Tet 68 by an RPG that destroyed the APC I was driving. HHC Recon Platoon, MOS 11D, 2/34th Armor, 25th ID. 1oo% VA disability for combat wounds and PTSD. Originally from Mt Clemens, MI and now reside in the Pacific NW.

Actually I've always gotten along with my wife despite my PTSD. I think of my home as my safe place, somewhere to hide from the world. I was in group therapy with other RVN vets but was told to leave. I seems can't get along well with people, mostly men. I believe my PTSD was created after I came home from the war. We were hated back then; by are own age group and even WW2 vets. You had two choices, join the hippie revolution and drug out or keep it all in. It was like a boiling tea kettle with the lid on.
  2. Jimmy

Jimmy Well-Known Member Can Ban

Welcome mate. There are some other old farts on here. lol.
    tho9900 likes this.
  3. Tim Cake

Tim Cake Well-Known Member

Welcome Mike!
  4. reddevil1111

reddevil1111 Well-Known Member

Welcome and all that. :)
  5. Anglesachse

Anglesachse Well-Known Member

Welcome to the fold mike brother.

Plenty of old folk here who saw what you saw. The rest of us know what your talking about.

Pull up a sand bag, and use the safety of our little bunker to sort your head out.

Rant as you must, read when you can and post as you wish.

Hang tough brother
    tnkg1rl likes this.
  6. Zipperhead

Zipperhead Well-Known Member

7. JarHed

JarHed Well-Known Member Can Ban

Welcome Mike

'Nam vet here. Also went there during Tet '68. I was with 2/27 outside of DaNang near hill 55. Glad you made it this far brother. Lots of Nam Farts here as well. Great place and people.